Always Caring. Always Here.


On Thursday, November 15, 2018, Nanticoke Health Foundations paid tribute to healthcare leaders in the Western Sussex County community. The Nanticoke Health Services Tributes for Healthcare Leadership awards individuals or organizations who have made significant contributions to the provision and improvement of healthcare in the communities of Western Sussex County.

The 14th annual Nanticoke Health Services Tributes for Healthcare Leadership dinner saluted this year’s honorees – Founders Award recipient, Janet K. Hubbard and Lynda A. Messick; Charles C. Allen Jr. Leadership in Philanthropy Award recipient, Karl and Nancy Brown; and Physician Hall of Fame inductee, Dr. Jose L. Barrioncal.

Founders Award

The Founders’ Award recognizes those individuals who have furthered the mission of Nanticoke Health Services and improves the health of our communities. This year it is our great honor to present this award to two individuals, Janet K. Hubbard and Lynda A. Messick.

The first Founders’ recipient is Janet K. Hubbard. Janet and her husband Bill (Hubbard) have only lived in Seaford for 15 years. But during that short time, Janet has dedicated over 8,130 volunteer hours at Nanticoke. She is a member of the 5200 Hour Volunteer Hall of Fame. Janet was the past president of the Nanticoke Health Services Auxiliary and the chair for the Dinner Auction. She also service on the Nanticoke Foundation Board and was the co-chair of the Nanticoke Capital Campaign Community Division. Volunteering has always been a big part of Janet’s life. She started volunteering when she was only 18 at the Baylor University Medical Center and has not stopped yet!

Our second recipient, Lynda A. Messick a native Delawarean has volunteered her time in many places throughout Sussex County and the state of Delaware. She has served as a Board Member for the American Red Cross, United Way, Junior Achievement, the American Heart Association, Delaware Technical & Community College Foundation Council and the Sussex County Land Trust.  Lynda has served on the Governor’s Transition Team in both 2001 and 2017.  She has served on the State of Delaware Judiciary Nominating Committee and is currently on the State of Delaware’s Cash Management Policy Board.   She is the Vice Chair of the Federal Home Loan Bank of Pittsburgh and a Board member at County Bank.

At Nanticoke, Lynda has been a vital part of our growth.  In her 16 years on the NHS Board, she has served as the Chair for Nanticoke’s Governance Committee and the Compensation Committee and on the Audit & Risk Management Committee.  Most recently, Lynda served as the Chairperson of the NHS Board of Directors.  Lynda has leant her expertise in strategic planning, finance and corporate governance to Nanticoke through tough times and great times.  She has been a friend and mentor to the organization, helping to guide Nanticoke to a time of prosperity and great goodwill with the community it serves.

Charles C. Allen, Jr. Leadership in Philanthropy Award

The Charles C. Allen, Jr. Leadership in Philanthropy Award was award to Karl and Nancy Brown. Both Karl and Nancy have been active members within the community and have served on the Boards and Committees for Nanticoke Health Services. Most recently, they worked as a team on the Capital Campaign, raising money for the Emergency Department Renovations and other Nanticoke expansion projects.

Karl is an active member of the Seaford Kiwanis Club. He has served on the Board of Director at the Seaford Golf and Country Club and served on Nanticoke’s Community Board for 10 years. Karl and his father, Karl, Sr. are the first father and son to be honorees at the annual Tributes Awards. Karl accepted the Founders Award in honor of his father in 2006 at the second Annual Tributes Award.

Nancy joined the hospital Auxiliary in 1981 when they moved to Seaford. She was the Secretary of the Auxiliary and then Auxiliary President from 1986-1988.  Nancy has donated 5,232 hours of service as a volunteer at Nanticoke and is a member of the 5,200 Volunteer Hall of Fame.  She has been a member of the Dinner Auction committee for many years and was the Co-chair from 2002 – 2004.  In 2016, Nancy was the first recipient of the Charlotte L. Cannon Honorary Chair Award for the Dinner Auction with her good friend Nancy Marsh Cook.

Nanticoke Physicians Hall of Fame

The Physicians Hall of Fame recognizes and honors physicians who have served their communities with dedication and distinction. Nanticoke was pleased to induct Dr. Jose L. Barriocanal.

For over 43 years, Dr. Jose Barriocanal has served Seaford and Nanticoke Memorial Hospital. Dr. Barriocanal joined the staff at Nanticoke Memorial Hospital in 1975 and was the first Urologist at the hospital.  He also served on the Bylaws Committee for over 10 years.

He retired from private practice in June of this year, but still covers call for the hospital when needed. Nanticoke is grateful for the leadership, dedication and service Dr. Barriocanal has provided for nearly half a century.  Great men are often hard to come by.  We have been blessed to have such a great man taking care of our hospital and us since 1975.

Comments are closed.