Always Caring. Always Here.


Seaford, DE—April 10, 2017: Nanticoke Health Services proudly announced today that it has been recognized for two distinctions in quality excellence from Healthgrades: the Healthgrades 2017 Patient Safety Excellence Awardand the Healthgrades 2017 Outstanding Patient Experience Award. Healthgrades is the leading online resource for comprehensive information about physicians and hospitals. Nanticoke Health Services is the only hospital in Delaware and Maryland to receive both awards.

Only 95 out of the 3,000 hospitals evaluated for patient safety and patient experience excellence achieved both distinctions. Nanticoke Memorial Hospital is the only hospital on the Delmarva Peninsula to receive both awards, placing Nanticoke among only 3% of hospitals nationally to receive both awards. This distinction recognizes Nanticoke Memorial Hospital for excellent performance in safeguarding patients from serious, potentially preventable complications, as well as providing a positive experience for patients during their hospital stays.

About the Awards

Healthgrades 2017 Patient Safety Excellence Award

For the study period (2013-2015), on average, 134,568 patient safety events could have been avoided if all hospitals performed similar to the hospitals eligible for this recognition by Healthgrades. In addition, during this study period, patients treated in hospitals receiving the Healthgrades Patient Safety Excellence Award™ were on average 54% less likely to experience catheter-related bloodstream infections acquired at the hospital than patients treated at non-recipient hospitals and 50% less likely to experience pressure sores or bed sores acquired in the hospital than patients treated at non-recipient hospitals. Patients were also less likely to experience accidental injury from a laceration during a procedure and less likely to experience a collapsed lung during surgery.[1]

The Board of Directors and the leadership team could not be more proud of the work that is being done at Nanticoke,” said Steven Rose, RN, MN, President and CEO of Nanticoke Health Services. “We have and continue to work extremely hard to put patients at the forefront of all we do. The recognition by Healthgrades for the significant combination of patient safety and patient experience excellence is a culmination of years of very hard work by everyone. I am humbled and grateful to be counted among such an outstanding team.”

“We applaud recipients for their commitment to delivering high-quality care, while reducing patient safety events and providing a safe and positive experience for patients during their hospital stay,” said Brad Bowman, Chief Medical Officer, Healthgrades.

Recipient hospitals demonstrated excellent performance in safety provided for patients in the Medicare population, as measured by objective outcomes (risk-adjusted patient safety indicator rates) for 13 patient safety indicators defined by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Healthgrades 2017 Outstanding Patient Experience Award

In addition to being recognized as one of Healthgrades 2017 Patient Safety Excellence Award recipients, Nanticoke Memorial Hospital also out-performed peer hospitals in patient experience. Healthgrades evaluatedperformance by applying a scoring methodology to 10 patient experience measures, using data collected from a 32-question patient experience survey of the hospital’s own patients. The survey questions focus on patients’ perspectives of their care in the hospital. The topics of these questions ranged from cleanliness and noise levels in patient rooms to factors such as pain management and responsiveness to patients’ needs. The measures also include whether a patient would recommend the hospital to friends or family.

For more information about Healthgrades or to download a full copy of the report, or to receive information about hospital and physician quality, visit today.

[1] Statistics are based on Healthgrades Patient Safety Ratings and Excellence Award methodology which includes application of AHRQ QI software to MedPAR data for years 2013 through 2015 and represent three-year estimates for Medicare patients only.

Comments are closed.